Plan for Developing Positive Digital Footprint and Managing Online Reputation

Here are my 10 strategies for developing a positive digital footprint and managing my online reputation:

1. Search my name regularly using multiple search engines to ensure there is no unwanted content associated with my name. I will be sure to check video, image, and blog searches as well (Kuehn, 2010).

2. Develop a positive online presence by actively posting professional material on social networks and other sites (Richardson, 2008).

3. Be aware of pictures being taken at parties or social events that I might not want to be posted online.  Make sure that family and friends know when I do not want them to post any pictures of me (Kuehn, 2010).

4. Be careful of who I am following on twitter by making sure I am not following anyone who is posting inappropriate content (Hengstler, 2011).

5. Remember when writing emails to anyone that it is only private based on the honor-system and anything you write could potentially be forwarded or posted/printed to be seen by anyone (Hengstler, 2011).

6. Spend time learning about social networks that are unfamiliar to me.  Find out the answers to questions about the social network site including: What information is public on the site and what are the privacy settings (Johnston, 2013).

7. Only join social networks that would be considered professional. There are some social networking sites that would be inappropriate for an educator to join (Hengstler, 2011).

8. Review my districts social networking policy to make sure my online activity is in compliance with what the district expects of their employees (Johnston, 2013).

9. Use secure passwords for sites that I join and update old passwords to insure that no one can get into my accounts and post unwanted material (De, n.d.).

10. Establish an about.me page and use resources such as Google alerts, mention, and brandyourslef to monitor my digital footprint (De, n.d.).

 

References 

De, K. (n.d.) Six steps to proactively manage your digital footprint. Retrieved from http://krishnade.com/digital-footprint/

Hengstler, J. (2011). Managing digital footprints: Ostriches v. eagles. In S. Hirtz &  K. Kelly (Eds.), Education for a digital world 2.0 (2nd ed.) (Vol. 1, Part One: Emerging technologies and practices). Open School/Crown Publications: Queen’s Printer for British Columbia, Canada. Available from http://www.viu.ca/education/faculty_publications/hengstler/EducationforDigitalWorld2.0_1_jh89.pdf

Johnston, G. (2013, May 3). Managing your digital footprint as an educator. Retrieved from http://teachingaheadofthecurve.blogspot.com/2013/05/managing-your-digital-footprint-as.html

Kuehn, L. (2010). Manage your digital footprint. Teacher Newsmagazine, 23(3). Retrieved from http://bctf.ca/publications/NewsmagArticle.aspx?id=21794

Richardson, W. (2008). Footprints in the digital age. Giving Students Ownership of Learning, 66(3). Retrieved from http://www.ascd.org/publications/educational-leadership/nov08/vol66/num03/Footprints-in-the-Digital-Age.aspx

2 comments on “Plan for Developing Positive Digital Footprint and Managing Online Reputation

  1. Some good ideas here that I had not considered, like being responsible for whom you are following on social networks. And I desperately need to clean up my password situation with a password manager like LastPass. I am pushing my luck as I did not address this during the recent virus scare. I also shortsightedly associated many of these accounts with my BSU email address which will not be permanent (assuming I do in fact graduate someday!)

  2. I read a lot in my researching on storing passwords online using password managers, did you come across this in addressing passwords as well? I found it interesting because in everything I have ever been told before, keeping passwords in one place was a bad idea. Funny how things change! Passwords are definitely my downfall, and I probably don’t change mine as often as I should! Great tips!

Leave a Reply

