Final Reflection and Course Blog

I learned a lot from this course this summer. Before beginning this course my social network use was limited to Twitter and Facebook, but I now know so much more.  I learned something from each assignment and thought they were well-organized, thoughtful assignments. I learned about many social networks that I never used before including Edmodo, Pearltrees, Learnist, Hackpad, Scoop.it, Google+, Goodreads, Linkedin, and more.  One of my favorite aspects of this course was how we communicated with our peers and professor. In previous courses I’ve only used email and moodle forums for course communications. I enjoyed the experience of using a Facebook group for posting our work and reviewing announcements. I also used Twitter heavily in this course because my PLN communicated mainly through Twitter. I was fortunate to have an excellent PLN and felt that we created great projects together, especially our music video appreciation course. I hope I have the opportunity to use the course we created with older students someday. I will definitely be sharing my PLN’s guide to content curation with my colleagues at school.

I am looking forward to applying all that I learned into my professional practice.  One of my reasons for taking this course was to learn how to use social media in my elementary music classes, and I now have many ideas. I plan to have my students write tweets for our music classes, create and use a class hashtag, and use Edmodo for class activities and announcements. I may even create a class Facebook page because many parents use Facebook as their main social network. I will also be discussing social media etiquette and digital footprints with my students and completing activities related to those topics.  Even though these aren’t music topics, I feel that it is very important to teach young students the importance of creating a positive digital footprint. I also plan to offer professional development sessions for teachers as part of my district’s Teacher Academy on using social networks in the classroom.

For professional development,  I will continue to participate in twitter chats, especially #musedchat. I will be on the lookout for webinars. I had never attended a webinar before and found them exhilarating. I loved being in sessions with people from all over the world and being able to chat with participants while listening to the presenter all within the comfort of my own home. I also joined some great Google+ groups for music education which I have already learned a lot from. I plan to keep in contact with my PLN members from this course as they were very knowledgeable, and I learned a lot from them. I will continue to grow my personal PLN through Twitter and Google+ by continuing to connect with music and edtech educators.

Lastly, in self-assessing my blog, I feel that I earned the full 75 points because my blog posts were detailed and met all requirements. I am glad that I will have these blog post for future reference as the assignments were very informative.

Leave a Reply

